You are here

The mission of the Leadership Academy Alumni Association is to foster meaningful and lifelong connections through the ongoing advancement of leaders, exchange of ideas, and mobility solutions to link communities. 

View Alumni Class Photos

Alumni Event

IBTTA Distinguished Leadership Academy Alum of the Year, 2021

(Pictured L to R: Fellow Alums, Myneca Ojo (2018) and Mary Sallach (2015) present the award to Samuel Johnson (2012), Alum of the Year )

(Pictured L to R: Samuel Johnson (2012), Alum of the Year and Myneca Ojo (2018))

In 2021, The Leadership Academy Alumni Association (LAAA) created the IBTTA Distinguished Leadership Academy Alum of the Year Award. This award recognizes a leader that has demonstrated and made significant commitments to tolling and the transportation industry after graduating from the IBTTA Leadership Academy. The outstanding alum mirrors IBTTA's focus on advancing leaders in the industry as well as serving to inspire others while building relationships.  The Alum also demonstrates an intense commitment to providing excellent service to the tolling industry and persevering in the face of adversity.

The first Distinguished Leadership Academy Alum of the Year was awarded to Samuel Johnson, CEO of the Transportation Corridor Agencies dubbed IBTTA's 2020 "Wartime President".  The award ceremony took place during the LAAA session on Sunday, October 10, 2021, during the 89th Annual Meeting & Exhibition. Congratulations Samuel - well deserved!  

Samuel Johnson serves as CEO for the Transportation Corridor Agencies (TCA) -- two joint powers authorities formed by the California legislature in 1986
to plan, finance, construct and operate Orange County’s public toll road system.

Prior to joining TCA in 2015 as Chief Toll Operations Officer, Johnson spent 12 years with the San Diego Association of Governments (SANDAG) overseeing countywide efforts to implement innovative transportation solutions and serving as part of the executive team responsible for the region’s tolling enterprise, including the State Route 125 toll road and the I-15 Express Lanes, the nation’s first dynamically priced toll facility.

Johnson has a rounded perspective for tolling since he is an accountant and has worked in transportation, transit, and advanced technology for nearly two decades.

He served as IBTTA President in 2020. During his presidency, Johnson was instrumental in establishing the Leadership Academy Alumni Association and the Toll Immersion Program, partnering platinum sponsors with agencies for internships. He also founded the Task Force on Diversity, Social, and Racial Inclusion to implement practices and programs that contribute to racial and social justice within IBTTA and beyond.  Details of Samuel's extraordinary year are captured in the 2020 IBTTA Annual Report.

Before joining IBTTA’s Executive Committee, Johnson participated in the Finance, Membership, and Interoperability Governance committees and contributed to the IBTTA TollMiner™ Working Group. 

A past president of the statewide California Toll Operators Committee (CTOC), Johnson earned a bachelor’s of science degree in business management with an emphasis in accounting from San Diego State University. 


LAAA Officers (2022-2023)

The LAAA Officers serve a two-year term. 

  • Co-Chair - Stephanie Blanco Capital Projects Manager (Toll), Riverside County Transportation Commission
  • Co-Chair Alan Williamson Senior Project Manager - Program Management, HNTB Corporation
  • Vice-Chair, Programs/PAPC Chair - Mike Davis, VP, Tolls and Technology Service Group Leader, RS&H
  • Vice-Chair – Membership/ Sponsorship - Carlos Campo, Assistant Vice President, WSP, USA
  • Treasurer - Mark Hicks, Senior Toll Technology Specialist, RS&H
  • SecretaryTyler Milligan, Managing Partner, Milligan Partners LLC
  • Ambassador - Lauren Hakos, Training and Development Manager, Ohio Turnpike and Infrastructure Commission
  • Ambassador - Mary Sallach, Director of Strategic Initiatives, State Road & Tollway Authority
Follow Us on Social Media!