You are here

Women in Tolling Council

 Women in Tolling Lifetime Achievement Award

This annual award is presented to women who have dedicated their careers to truly making a difference.  This is the first year for this special award and it was bestowed on two very deserving women, both of whom served as Presidents of IBTTA.  Join IBTTA and the Women in Tolling by congratulating Susan Buse and Mary Jane O'Meara, the first two recipients of the Women in Tolling Lifetime Achievement Award!

Susan Buse, President of SBuse Consulting and IBTTA Past President, "virtually" accepts her 2021 Women in Tolling Lifetime Achievement Award during the 89th Annual Meeting & Exhibition. 

(pictured L to R: Mary Sallach, Vice-Chair, WIT;  Susan Buse, 2021 Awardee, and Patty Rubstello, P.E., Chair, WIT)

Susan Buse served as IBTTA  President in 2008, the 3rd woman president in IBTTA's history.  After 30 years in both the public and private sectors, Susan is now a sole practitioner focused on providing management consulting and business development services to clients in the toll road sector. Her practice includes research, AET conversion, feasibility studies, and communication strategic planning. Prior to her current role, Susan was the senior finance executive at the North Texas Tollway Authority for more than 15 years and was responsible for all finance functions and financial planning activities. She implemented agency-wide financial processes as the operations tripled and directed multiple feasibility studies of new roadways. As CFO, Susan completed the issuance of over $7 billion in debt using a complex mix of public finance instruments and loans.  Susan is a trusted advisor at IBTTA and continues to be very involved through the Membership, Mentorship, and Finance Committees. 


Mary Jane O'Meara, Vice President, HNTB, and IBTTA Past President accepts her 2021 Women in Tolling Lifetime Achievement Award during the 89th Annual Meeting & Exhibition. 

(pictured L to R: Snehal Ambare, Secretary, WIT; Mary Sallach, Vice-Chair, WIT; Mary Jane O'Meara, 2021 Awardee and Patty Rubstello, P.E., Chair, WIT)

Mary Jane O’Meara began her career in transportation working as a consultant for the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority. Several years later, Massport hired her as operations manager for the Tobin Bridge, and subsequently, she was promoted to director of the bridge, a post she held for 18 years. In 2011, she joined HNTB to lead the Boston office, and today she is a vice president in the national toll group.  Mary Jane held the role of IBTTA President in 1999, only the 2nd woman president in IBTTA history.  Mary Jane also founded and chaired, for 20 years, the New England Toll Association, which fostered cooperation among the region’s toll authorities to implement unified electronic toll collection systems. In 2015, she joined an esteemed list of women who’ve made a difference in the transportation industry and was featured in the book, Boots on the Ground, Flats in the Boardroom: Transportation Women Tell Their Stories by Grace Crunican and Elizabeth Levin.  Mary Jane is one of IBTTA's beloved "GO-TO" people at IBTTA.  She's always willing to share ideas, insight, and guidance and has her finger on the pulse of the tolling community!


About THE Women in Tolling (WIT)

Established in 2020, a group of women in the tolling industry within IBTTA created the Women in Tolling (WIT) Council to discuss how to connect women, support diversity, and promote professional development.


Connecting women in tolling globally, supporting diversity in leadership and promoting professional development. 


IBTTA is a highly diverse and inclusive international organization, where everyone can see themselves reflected in the events and committees that serve the membership.


  • Ensure panel presentations reflect the diversity of our organizations and communities (including women, other DBEs & young leaders from around the world)
  • Support and promote diverse international leaders into IBTTA leadership roles (Board, Committees, and Planning efforts)
  • Give back to the women in the communities where we hold IBTTA events
  • Hold informal socials at IBTTA events to give women a ‘friendly’ environment to engage with others attending the event
  • Host formal events to focus on topics specific to women
  • Support young professionals with paid conference fees to provide opportunities for IBTTA participation
  • Encourage STEM programs for students to lead them into transportation and tolling and partner with WTS on similar initiatives

Officers & Members


Patty Rubstello
Washington State Department of Transportation


Mary Dowling Sallach
State Road & Tollway Authority


Snehal Ambare
HNTB Corporation

  • Susan Buse, SBuse Consulting
  • Jennifer Frankl, HNTB Corporation
  • Galia Ivanov, Kapsch TrafficCom
  • Catherine Larson, Larson Consulting Associates LLC
  • Mary Jane O'Meara, HNTB Corporation
  • Terri Slack, CDM Smith
  • Wanda Sneed, ETC
  • Shannon Swank, PlusPass, Inc.
  • Lisa Thompson, HNTB Corporation
  • Jessica Carson, E-470 Public Highway Authority
  • Jeff Dailey, Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority
  • Joi Dean, Richmond Metropolitan Transportation Authority
  • Laura Kelley, Central Florida Expressway Authority (CFX)
  • María Moreno, SEOPAN
  • Kathryn O'Connor, Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority
  • Malika Seddi, ASECAP
  • Emanuela Stocchi, AISCAT (Associazione Italiana Società Concessionarie Autostrade e Trafori

Liaisons to the Council

Past Events 2021
Past Events, 2020
Join our LinkedIn Group!